BRRWD Elects New Board Officers

At their regular meeting held on June 8, 2020, at 7:00 PM in Barnesville, the Board of Managers, Buffalo-Red River Watershed District (BRRWD), elected Vice President Peter V. Fjestad as Acting BRRWD President and Manager Catherine L. Affield as Acting Vice President.  The officer reorganization was in response to the removal of former BRRWD President Jay A. Leitch by the Clay County Board of Commissioners on 5/26/20.  The Managers agreed to designate the positions as “Acting” officers until Clay County makes new Board appointments.  The terms for the two remaining Clay County Managers, Gerald L. Van Amburg and Mark T. Anderson, will expire on 8/31/20.  The County is currently advertising for the positions for two Managers for three-year terms and one Manager for a one-year term.  Interviews will take place at the 7/21/20 Board of Commissioners meeting with appointments/reappointments to be made at their 7/28/20 meeting. 

Other Business included: 

  • Approved the 6/8/20 financial statements, including the project account balance sheet, administrative disbursements, and summary of income. Cash on hand was $1,978,790.72.  Income received since the 5/11/20 meeting totaled $625,936.70 and for the year, was $954,857.76.  The current administrative disbursements since 5/11/20 totaled $34,810.30, and the total for the year is $185,419.33.  They approved payment of the bills totaling $576,447.71.

  • Appointed Manager Anderson to fill the BRRWD’s position on the Minnesota-Clay County Joint Powers Agreement Committee.

  • Approved permits to Dennis Aksamit to install 158 acres of pattern tile in the SE¼, Section 27, Akron Township, Wilkin County, outletting to Wilkin County Ditch (C.D.) No. 3 to which the property is assessed, subject to the standard tiling disclaimer; Wilkin County Highway Department to replace an existing wooden bridge in the NE¼, Section 35, Akron Township, with a 12′ x 6′ reinforced concrete box culvert (RCB); Don Yaggie to tile the NE¼, Section 22, Nordick Township, Wilkin County, in conjunction with tiling Permit No. 20-022, subject to the standard tiling disclaimer; Todd Andresen/Becker Soil and Water Conservation District to install Natural Resources Conservation Service designed water and sediment control basins in the NE¼, Section 23, and the NW¼, Section 24, Hamden Township, Becker County, with surface intakes and underground outlet, including a culvert change in the township road, subject to township approval to work within their road right-of-way (R/W); Wilkin County Highway Department to replace an existing bridge on C.D. No. 3 in the NE¼, Section 31, Akron Township, with a 12′ x 6′ RCB; Tyson Trosvik to install a perforated 12″ dia. main tile line in the NE¼, Section 1, Tanberg Township, Wilkin County, to provide an improved outlet for existing tile in Section 6, Trondhjem Township, Otter Tail County; Bill Riestenberg to replace a deteriorated culvert in the NE¼, Section 33, Oscar Township, Otter Tail County, sized to match the new 15″ dia. upstream culvert the Township recently installed, plus the addition of random tile lines to existing tile in Sections 29, 33, and 34, Oscar Township; and Luther Blilie to install a field entrance off County Road No. 30 in the NE¼, Section 34, Deerhorn Township, Wilkin County, with an 18″ dia. corrugated metal pipe sized to match the adjacent culverts, subject to County approval to work within their road R/W.

  • Approved Pay Request No. 1 in the amount of $91,836 from Key Contracting, Inc. for their work on the Clay C.D. Nos. 41, 47, and 50 channel liner repairs.

  • Authorized a DNR Permit amendment to remove the fish barrier on a waterbody on private property in Deerhorn Township, Wilkin County, associated with the Manston Slough project. The Board also authorized a survey to develop a plan for the Project Management Team’s review to find options to improve connections to various wetland basins on DNR property associated with the project and to improve water level management. 

  • Approved Final Pay Request No. 6 and Change Order No. 2 from Dennis Drewes, Inc. in the amount of $25,457.88 to close out the Project No. 78, Clay/Wilkin Judicial Ditch (J.D.) No. 1 construction contract.

  • Approved Pay Request No. 11 from Sellin Brothers, Inc. for Project No. 79, Wolverton Creek Restoration, Phase 1, construction in the amount of $191,956.81 and authorized signature of the Phase 2 construction contract with Gladen Construction, Inc., LaPorte, MN.

  • Authorized signature of the Minnesota Board of Water and Soil Resources (BWSR) Targeted Watershed grant extension for the Wolverton Creek Restoration project to 12/31/2021.

  • Authorized Interim Administrator Kathleen K. Fenger to sign the BWSR Reinvest In Minnesota easement documents on behalf of the BRRWD for a parcel in Section 10 of Wolverton Township.

  • Approved an extension of States Borders Construction, Inc. contract deadline for the Wilkin/Otter Tail J.D. No. 2 repairs until 7/15/20.

  • Approved the 2020-2021 Barnesville High School River Watch water quality monitoring budget in the amount of $5,553.80.

The Board of Managers, BRRWD, will hold their next regular meeting on Monday, June 22, 2020, at 7:00 PM in the Barnesville office.  Due to the COVID-19 emergency, we plan to hold an electronic meeting in accordance with Minnesota Statutes Annotated, Section 13D.021.  The conference line information is: Toll Free 1-833-403-3948 or Local 1-701-499-9476.  Access Code 2503.  Conference PIN 1401.  The public is welcome to dial in to the meeting.  More information will be posted on the BRRWD’s website prior to the meeting at